One of the little-understood features of Facebook Groups is their variable privacy settings.
These settings are specified by the admin of the group – and are important for members to understand.
When you visit a group you are a member of (or considering joining), you can see the group privacy setting near the about section (on the desktop view, this is in the right hand column):
According to Facebook’s help doc:
What are the privacy options for groups?
There are three privacy options for groups: Open, Closed and Secret. The table below shows who can join these groups and what people can see about them.
|Who can join?||Anyone can join or be added or invited by a member||Anyone can ask to join or be added or invited by a member||Anyone, but they have to be added or invited by a member|
|Who can see the group’s name?||Anyone||Anyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see who’s in the group?||Anyone||Anyone||Only members|
|Who can see the group description?||Anyone||Anyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see the group tags?||Anyone||Anyone||Current and former members|
|Who can see what members post in the group?||Anyone||Only members||Only members|
|Who can find the group in search?||Anyone||Anyone||Only members|
|Who can see stories about the group on Facebook (like in News Feed and search)?||Anyone||Anyone||Only members|
If you’re an admin of a group, you can go into “Edit Group Settings” to change the privacy settings depending on the size of your group.
This chart should help you understand, when you post in Facebook groups, what your FRIENDS will see (or not see) of your activity there.
Gaining a better understanding of your privacy – or visibility – is the key to making good decisions online!
Do you participate in Facebook groups? Which group types do you prefer?
~ Kim ~
Simple Tech Tips For Marketing