I See You!
Understanding the post-privacy settings in Google+ helps you understand who sees what.
[Please remember the site is in beta and bugs – that break these privacy “rules” are always possible. Never forget you are in a public environment.]
Public: Everyone, regardless of whether they are a Google+ member or not, can see this.
Whether someone see’s it in their circle stream, or in incoming, or only when visiting your profile depends on how they have (or have not) become connected to you by their own actions.
Extended Circle: “XCircles” Everyone in your circles and their circles can see it. (This is like “Friends of Friends” on Facebook)
Similar to above – where they see this depends on how they have connected themselves to you. Those that have circled you will see it in their stream. If they have not circled you, but you have circled them, it will show in their incoming stream.
Everyone in their circles sees it, if they visit your profile, but not otherwise. It’s a more controlled version of Public. This is another way of saying that the “Friends of Friends” do not see it in their “incoming” but will see it if they go to look at your profile.
Your Circles: This setting shares the content to all of your circles, but does not make the post visible on your wall to friends-of-friends.
Like above, where the recipient sees the content depends on if they have you in a circle (then they see it in their stream) or not (then they see it in their incoming unless they have you hid).
Selected Circles: This setting shares the content to your selected circles, but does not make the post visible on your wall to friends-of-friends. This content is not visible to those not in these circles.
Individuals: Sent to the stream and with notifications if it’s sent to an individual. The receivers will receive it in THEIR stream if they’ve circled you, otherwise it’s in incoming.
Mix & Match: Sent to the stream and with notifications if it’s sent to an individual. The receivers will receive it in THEIR stream if they’ve circled you, otherwise it’s in incoming.
Word of Warning!
Just like on Facebook anything posted openly into a circle can – without some adjustment – be rapidly re-shared to the public at large. Fortunately Google has given us a way to minimize that using some options that are available in the right-hand drop-down AFTER you hit share on a post.
Disabling reshare does take the share button away – but at least in my current testing a unique permalink remains and that (just like on Facebook) is the old trick to re-sharing “unshareable” content. The unique permalinks are important so I would not expect this loophole to go away. Keep this in mind and keep an eye on if it gets an update in the future. The disable reshare however does stop the average person that is feeling they are doing you a favor resharing something interesting you said.
There ya go! Real straight forward stuff on controlling access to what you say on the new G+ platform!
Does Google stand a chance of competing against the behemoth that is Facebook? Do you think enough people will be willing to give it a chance to enable it to have a opportunity to catch on? Do you feel your data is more at risk with Facebook or Google and why? Have you got a Google+ Project invite yet?
And be sure to add me to your “Social Experts” circle when you get your invite!
Your Partner In Online Success
P.S.: Need an invite? Invites are available from me to my mailing list subscribers. If you’d like one, jump in, confirm your email address and then send an email to the email address on that email (which is my priority subscriber email address) with your GMAIL email address and name and I’ll send them out!